FIAS - Boards

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of FIAS, controlling and steering the work of the institute. All major research areas of FIAS should be represented by at least one member in the Board. In particular, the Board of Directors ensures that the strategic goals of FIAS are being met. The Board decides on appointments at the Fellow level. In general, search committees are established similar to the procedure followed by Goethe University.

The Board is represented by the Board of Directors chair.

Enrico Schleiff

Prof. Dr. Enrico Schleiff

Chairman / Life Sciences

Dr. Rolf Bernhardt

Prof. Dr. Volker Lindenstruth

Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolf Singer


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Horst Stöcker

Theoretical Physics

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees supervises the Board of Directors and appoints its members. It decides on the budget of FIAS and advises the Board of Directors in all matters of strategic importance.

Board of Trustees

Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees

  • Prof. Dr. Rudolf Steinberg (chairman)
  • Stephan Rapp
  • Senator E.h. Ekkehardt Sättele
  • Dr. Andreas Widl
  • Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff

Further Members:

  • Dr. h.c. Josef Buchmann
  • Dr. h.c. Nikolaus Hensel
  • Dr. Roland Kaehlbrandt